How To Factory Reset Macbook Pro Os X El Capitan

Open System Preferences. Click on System Preferences in the menu bar at the top of your screen. Click on Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your password.

Also the question is, how do I restore my MacBook pro to factory settings Mac OS X? From the Apple menu  in the corner of your screen, choose System Preferences. From the System Preferences menu in the menu bar, choose Erase All Content and Settings.

Also, how do I do a clean install of OS X El Capitan?

  1. Restart the Mac from the bootable installer while holding down the Option key. Select the installer on the USB drive and press Return.
  2. If installing to startup drive, select Disk Utility > Continue. Select the drive and choose Erase.
  3. Confirm Mac OS X Extended (Journaled) is selected.

Also know, how do I force my MacBook Pro to wipe? Press the power button to turn it on, then immediately press and hold Command (⌘) + R. Keep holding it until you see either the Apple logo, or an animation of a spinning globe.

Beside the above, how do I wipe my Mac and reinstall? Restart your Mac. Choose Apple menu > Shut Down, press and hold the power button until “Loading startup options” appears, select Options, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions. In the Recovery app window, select Reinstall for your macOS release, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions.

  1. Launch System Preferences.
  2. Click System Preferences in the menu bar and select Erase All Content and Settings.
  3. Enter your admin password when prompted.
  4. Click Continue to confirm that all items will be erased.

How do I factory reset my iMac 2011?

After the iMac shuts down completely but before it begins to restart, hold down the Command (⌘) and R keys at the same time. The Mac will display the macOS Utilities menu, from which you can reinstall Mac OS.

How do I wipe a Mac hard drive clean?

  1. Restart your Mac.
  2. Hold down the Command + R keys while your Mac is restarting.
  3. Click Disc Utility.
  4. Click View > Show All Devices.
  5. Select your Mac’s drive and then click Erase.
  6. Click Erase and fill in the name, format, and Scheme.

Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?

Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.

How do I start my MacBook Pro in recovery mode 2011?

  1. Shut down your Mac.
  2. Hold down Command-Option/Alt-R and press the Power button.
  3. Hold down those keys until you a spinning globe and the message “Starting Internet Recovery.
  4. The message will be replaced with a progress bar.
  5. Wait for the MacOS Utilities screen to appear.

How do I restore my iMac to original factory settings?

To reset your Mac, first restart your computer. Then press and hold Command + R until you see the Apple logo. Next, go to Disk Utility > View > View all devices, and choose the top drive. Next, click Erase, fill out the required details, and hit Erase again.

How do I factory reset my iMac 2012?

Hold down the Command and R keys as soon as you hear the Mac tone indicating a reboot. Wait for the macOS Utilities screen to appear, then click Disk Utility. Choose your Mac’s system drive, usually named Macintosh HD, then click Erase. Select the Format option Mac Extended (Journaled) or APFS.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

Does erasing all content and settings delete everything?

Just to add onto this, yes it will erase all data effectively–you don’t need to overwrite it or anything like that.

Will erasing all content and settings remove Apple ID?

I just erased and reset to factory settings our two iPhones because we got new 5’s. I gave the phones away only to be told by a friend that the erase all content and settings doesn’t remove the apple ID from the device.

How do I boot into recovery mode?

Press and hold down the Volume Down button and keep holding it, then press and hold the Power button as well for a few seconds, and let go when you see the Android mascot on its back on screen. Use the Volume Down button to cycle through the options until you find Recovery mode and press the Power button to load it.

What do I do if I can’t reinstall OSX?

  1. First, completely shut down your Mac via the Apple Toolbar.
  2. Then, hold down Command, Option, P, and R buttons on your keyboard as you restart your Mac.
  3. After the second chime, let go of the buttons and let your Mac restart as normal.

How do I start my Mac in Disk Utility mode?

To access the Disk Utility on a modern Mac—regardless of whether it even has an operating system installed—reboot or boot up the Mac and hold Command+R as it boots. It’ll boot into Recovery Mode, and you can click Disk Utility to open it up. In Recovery Mode, macOS runs a special sort of recovery environment.

How do I factory reset my MacBook Pro 2012 without a disk?

Restart your Mac. Choose Apple menu > Shut Down, press and hold the power button until “Loading startup options” appears, select Options, click Continue, then follow the on-screen instructions. In the Recovery app window, select Reinstall for your macOS release, click Continue, then follow the on-screen instructions.

How do I wipe my MacBook 2012?

What is the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. Factory Reset: Factory resets are generally done to remove the data entirely from a device, the device is to be started again and requires the need of re installation of the software.

How do I completely wipe my laptop?

For Windows 10, go to the Start Menu and click on Settings. Then navigate to Update & Security, and find the Recovery menu. Next, select Reset this PC and choose Get Started. Follow the instructions to revert your computer back to when it was first unboxed.

Should you factory reset your laptop?

It’s good practice to factory reset your computer when you sell or dispose of it, regardless of whether it’s a Mac or Windows PC. It doesn’t matter if you use it every day for essential work or just the occasional picture viewing. Your device is bound to have all sorts of personal and sensitive information on it.

Can’t find Erase all content and settings?

Usually, everything could be just done by one step on iPhone. Go to iPhone Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your passcode, confirm you would like to erase the device, and then your device would become empty. Don’t forget to backup iPhone to computer before you erase iPhone.

What gets erased when you erase all content and settings?

  1. Erase all content and settings only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including: Email accounts. System and app data (including app settings and downloaded apps)
  2. To ensure Activation Lock is removed, sign out of iCloud: Tap. Settings.

How can I delete my Apple ID without password?

  1. On your iPhone, open Settings > iTunes & App Stores.
  2. Click on your Apple ID, then choose the Sign Out option. The Apple ID will be removed. Use a different Apple ID to sign in or create a new one, then Sign in.

Back to top button

Adblock detectado

Por favor, desactive su bloqueador de anuncios para poder ver el contenido de la página. Para un sitio independiente con contenido gratuito, es literalmente una cuestión de vida o muerte tener anuncios. Gracias por su comprensión.